Latest news

Congratulations to Lukas Razinkovas, the second PhD student of the group! Lukas Razinkovas defended his thesis on 2021 Dec. 10.


Congratulations to Mažena, the first PhD student in the group to to defend her thesis!

October 2020: Vytautas Žalandauskas and Rokas Silkinis have officially become PhD students at FTMC. Congratulations!

September 2020: Marek has participated at the Apropos 17 conference at FTMC.

June 2020: Rokas and Vytautas defended their Master thesis. Congratulations!

October 2019: Lukas and Mažena won Best Oral Presentation Award during FizTech 2019 Conference, Lithuania.

September 2019: Mažena has participated at the XLV Meeting of Polish Physicists and IPSEC XII, Cracow, Poland.

July 2019: Lukas and Mažena won Scholarship of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences for Academic Achievements.

June 2019: Audrius received a teaching award from Kaunas University of Technology.

May 2019: Audrius gave an interview for Žinių radijas.

April 2019: Mažena gave an interview for Lithuanian National Radio and Television “Mokslo sriuba” (Mokslo Lietuva,

March 2019: Lukas won a “Brilliant poster” award at the Hasselt diamond conference SBDD XXIV.

January 2019: Mažena gave an interview for “Stereotypical image – what a scientist should look like” and received an award “Talent of the Year” at Faculty of Physics.

October 2018: Audrius hosted and Lukas participated in OSA Defects by Design: Quantum Nanophotonics in Emerging Materials Incubator, OSA HeadquartersWashington, DC, USA.

September 2018: Mažena won a Graduate Student Award at the EMRS 2018 Fall Meeting in Warszaw, Poland.

July 2018: Mažena has co-organised the Humboldt Kolleg “Controlling quantum matter: From ultracold atoms to solids”.

Prof. Gediminas Juzeliūnas (Vilnius University), Prof. Wolfgang Ketterle (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Nobel Prize in Physics 2001) and Mažena.

June 2018: Vytautas and Rokas defended their Bachelor thesis. Congratulations!

May 2018: Mažena represented FTMC at 7th European Physical Society Young Minds Conference in Prague, Czech Republic.

April 2018: Audrius gave an interview to “Verslo Žinios”: “How quantum computing will change the world?”.

April 2018: Audrius gave an interview to “Žinių radijas” about quantum computing.

 March 2018: Mažena gave an interview for Lithuanian National Radio and Television (LRT televizija).

February 2018: Mažena received 3 awards:

INFOBALT Scholarship for Young Scientist 3rd place, The Best Young Scientist Award at Lithuanian Academy of Sciences, and Lithuanian Academy of Sciences Scholarship.

September 2017: Mažena has participated at the E-MRS meeting in Warsaw.

Prof. Chris Van de Walle and Mažena

 July 2017: Lukas attended the workshop and summer school “Density-Functional Theory and Beyond: Accuracy, Efficiency and Reproducibility in Computational Materials Science” in Berlin, Germany.

December 2016: Audrius received the Marshak lectureship award to attend the 2017 APS March meeting in New Orleans, USA.

December 2016: Mažena has received the Karl Mey Scholarship of the German Physical Society to attend the 2017 DPG Spring meeting in Dresden, Germany.

October 2016: Lukas and Mažena have officially become PhD students at FTMC. Congratulations!


• Ksenija Kovalenka from the University of Manchester stayed with the group from June 1 to September 30, 2020.

• Simone Manti from the Technical University of Denmark was staying at the group from September 2 to November 30, 2019.

• Gérard Mourou (Nobel Prize in physics 2018) during “Open Readings 2019” conference at Electronic Structure Theory Laboratory.

Marek Maciaszek from the Warsaw University of Technology was staying at the group from September 1 to November 30, 2018.

Chris G. Van de Walle (UCSB, USA): October 2-5, 2017.

IMG_5241  cof

Adam Gali (Wigner Center, Hungary): November 13-15, 2017.


Fedor Jelezko (University of Ulm, Germany): Ocober 17, 2017


Algita Stankevičiūtė (Warsaw University of Technology, Poland and Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania): August 3, 2017

Egidijus Auksorius (Ecole Polytéchnique, France): April 13, 2017


Laima Bušaitė (University of Latvia): April 3 – April 14, 2017


Florian H. Gahbauer (University of Latvia): January 30, 2017

Denis Gryaznov (Institute of Solid State Physics, Latvia): November 29, 2016


Prithvi Reddy (Australian National University): September 26 – October 7, 2016

fullsizerender  img_34221

Laima Bušaitė (University of Latvia): September 21-23, 2016


Alex Gaiduk (University of Chicago, USA): June 20-21, 2016

Marcus W. Doherty (Australian National University): May 24-27, 2016


Florian H. Gahbauer (University of Latvia): May 5-6, 2016

Ymir Frodason (University of Oslo, Norway): January 25 – February 12, 2016

Klaus M. H. Johansen (University of Oslo, Norway): January 25, 2016

Helmut Fedder (University of Stuttgart, Germany): December 7-8, 2015


Petr Khomyakov (ETH Zurich, Switzerland): December 3-4, 2015

Vyacheslavs Kashcheyevs (University of Latvia): October 22-23, 2015

Elisa Londero (Wigner Center, Hungary): April 20-22, 2015

Cyrus E. Dreyer (University of California, Santa Barbara): August 21-23, 2014